Who’s Party Is It?

birthday

About a month ago my sister called to remind me that our dad is turning 60 this year. She thought we should do something to celebrate, and of course, I agreed. I was just about to suggest having a nice little dinner with our immediate family when she blurted out, “we need to throw a big party and invite everyone he knows!”

My Dad detests crowds. And when I say crowds, he considers more than eight people a “crowd”. He would rather be hiking in the solitude of the woods than anywhere else. Stick him on top of a mountain in the middle of nowhere and you’ll find a happy man.

When I throw birthday parties for my kids, it’s almost only family members who attend, but we have a VERY large extended family. Dad cares about his grand-kids so much, that he will come to their parties, even when the “crowd” of fifteen people makes him uncomfortable.

So, this is why I thought she was crazy for suggesting a big party. I kindly reminded her that Dad doesn’t like crowds and would be much happier with a small celebration. It is his birthday, so we should try to do what HE would like. I’m sure she didn’t hear a word I said, and barged on with planning her idea. I hated the idea, but in an effort to keep the peace, I conceded.

Time has passed, and the party is set for tomorrow night. I called my sister to double-check all of the details were worked out and see if I needed to pick up candles for his cake. She told me that almost all 50 people RSVP’d and then went on about how Dad was grumbling about the party. He didn’t want to go and didn’t want all of the attention focused on him, so we better not do candles.

And then the part that killed me… She told him, “You have to go. You need to do this for me. Do this for your daughter.”

Whoa! I’m sorry… WHAT?!?!

There are so many things wrong with this I’m not sure where I’d even begin. So instead, I find myself blogging my annoyances and wishing I could get my dad the one thing he would really like for his birthday. The gift of cancelling his party and taking him hiking in the woods.

Sorry dad… you’ll have to suffer through the cake and the crowd and I’ll try to make it up to you later.

Leave a comment